Provinces to get 1.5m tons of wheat

The federal government has decided to supply 1.5 million tonnes of wheat to the provinces to overcome the shortage amid devastating floods.

According to Express News, the federal government approved the provision of wheat to Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) and Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

The wheat will be supplied to the provinces from the local and imported grain held by the federal agency PASCO. 0.2 million tonnes of wheat will be given to Sindh, 1 million tonnes to K-P and 0.3 million tonnes to AJK.

A decision could not be taken on the provision of wheat to Punjab due to the non-receipt of an amended request from the provincial government.

Apart from this, the Balochistan government has requested the federal government to provide 70,000 tonnes of wheat from the stock of domestic production.

Sindh, K-P and AJK will be supplied with 50 per cent imported wheat and 50 per cent local wheat.

The federal government has also approved the supply of 0.3 million tonnes of wheat to the Utility Stores Corporation (USC) at a 75:25 imported to domestic stock ratio.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.